Education, Outreach, and Advocacy Oregon Community Trees



Oregon Urban & Community Forestry Awards

We are pleased to announce the 2020 award recipients

Each year, Oregon Community Trees (OCT) and the Oregon Department of Forestry (ODF) honors outstanding Individuals, Organizations, and an Oregon Tree City of the Year for their leadership and accomplishments in advancing urban and community forestry projects in the state of Oregon. These awards recognize powerful examples of inspirational individuals engaging citizens, promoting tree planting and quality tree care, raising awareness and knowledge about Oregon’s trees and forests, and protecting Oregon’s urban and community forests to improve the quality of life in towns and cities around the state. Additionally, the USDA Forest Service supports this program and are equal opportunity providers and employers.

President’s Award: Scott Altenhoff, City of Eugene Urban Forestry Supervisor.

Individual Award: Rachel Munzig, Chairperson of Portland Fruit Tree Project (PFTP)

Individual Award: Garry Black, City of Philomath Operations Supervisor

Organizational Award: Clackamas River Basin Council

Due to safety concerns, award presentations have been deferred until fall 2020.

2019 Award Recipients



Previous Urban & Community Forestry Award Recipients

                                   Mary Harrell Friends of Trees (left) and OCT’s Jim Gersbach


Individual Awards:

Chris John, City of Ashland Tree Commission – 2019

Kerry Rappold, City of Wilsonville Natural Resources Manager – 2019

Casey Roland, Casey P. Roland Tree Care – 2018

Mary Harrell, Friends of Trees – 2018

Paul Hennon, City of Tualatin Community Services Director – 2018

Kasia Quillinan, City of Salem Parks Advisory Board – 2017

Lia Spiegel, City of La Grande – 2017

Ian Keene, Lincoln City – 2016

Lee Stevenson, Project Ponderosa Pine, Sunriver – 2016

Patricia Farrell, City of Salem – 2016

Organization Awards:

Willamette Valley Ponderosa Pine Conservation Association – 2019

Plant Oregon Nursery, Talent, Oregon – 2018

North Clackamas Parks & Recreation District’s Natural Areas Program – 2017

Eugene Friends of Trees – 2016

City of Eugene – 2016

President’s Award:

Diane Berry, City of Echo Urban Forest Manager – 2019

Jon Pywell, City of Corvallis Urban Forester – 2018

Greg Giesy, Past President – 2017

Brian Wegener, Past President – 2017

John Bellon, City of Klamath Falls – 2016

Oregon Tree City of the Year Award:

City of Corvallis – 2019

City of Lake Oswego – 2018

City of Milwaukie – 2017

   copyright 2010 Oregon Community Trees All Rights Reserved. | Oregon Community Trees - P.O. Box 13074 - Salem, OR 97309-1074
   designed and programmed by BHG Creative